PDA

Επιστροφή στο Forum : Foreigner needs some help

The Man
10-03-10, 01:01
Hello guys, I'm a student currently living in Panorama, Thessaloniki. Sorry for writing in English, but I've just started learning Greek.
I have had the package Conn-X from OTE for a few months. When I ordered I wanted 24mbps, but the employees told me that it was not available, I had to take 8mbps.
Now I took a look at the router statistics, here they are:
http://i.imgur.com/U5M4W.png

I browsed this forum and I found this site (http://www.adslgr.com/features/map/dslams.php?id=92) where I checked where is the closest DSLAM to my apartment in Panorama and I found out that there is a DSLAM right in Panorama. :hmm: Why do I have such high attenuation (25db)? Is there a possibility that OTE has connected me to another DSLAM, and not this one in Panorama?

arislol
10-03-10, 01:38
Hello!!

Yes it is possible but not sure that will lock in 24Mbps... It will probably lock at 12-13Mbps... Your Line attenuation is perfect.. Υοu get more upload, but download i don't know... So try at 24mbps and if you are not satisfied with 24Mbps get back to 8Mbps.... You have low margin.. 10.7db is not very good..

kover
10-03-10, 10:09
I think on a 25db line you can get a lot more than 8mbs. Trying the 24mbs for maybe a day wont cost you anything so go ahead and do it.

baskon
10-03-10, 10:15
Attenuation is ok..
sn margin (noise) is not ok for that attenuation-download speed combo.
With the current state of your line if you go for 24 mbps you will not get more than 9 mbps..
First you have to check if everything from your side is ok..Filters in every phone.Try to connect the router in another telephone socket and see the results in your router.If possible check the cabling in your house.

Even if Ote is routing you to another dslam than that of Panorama you cant do anything for it..
Besides your attenuation is ok.Not great,but not bad either..
Your problem is the noise in your line.

The Man
10-03-10, 10:28